The Calm Before the Storm (part 1)

My 50th birthday weekend… (and really, a week-long! Not just a weekend)… celebration was a blast!! I am excited to share it with you! 🙂


Journal Entry: Thursday – December 11, 2014

Wow!! What a wild, fun, exhausting, and crazy past WEEK it has been! I have LOTS to write about, but first I’ll share WHERE I am from at the moment. 

I am in Atlanta, sitting at a Chick-fil-A, hanging out while Mandy is at a 4 hour-long interview with Delta Airlines at the Atlanta airport! Yeah…. that was not too much fun trying to find that place! But, we did and I am so thankful that we got there on time. 

Anyway… let me back up and write about this past week.

Friday – December 5, 2014

I was able to get the Kenny Chesney tickets easily. I got the 1st row on the upper balcony! YAY! 🙂

Hubs and I left for Pensacola Florida about 11:00 a.m.. I am not sure what time we arrived there, but it was around 3:00 p.m., I think. 

We had planned to go straight to the Outback Steakhouse for a late lunch / early dinner, but they weren’t open, yet. So, we ended up at McGuire’s Irish Pub across the street. It was a very interesting place. We got an appetizer and a beer. It was one from a local brewery. (That’s what we like to get when we are traveling) After that, I had a frozen eggnog with Jim Beam float!! OMG!!! That was SOOOO GOOD! When we left there, we went on to our hotel – The Pensacola Grand Hotel

The hotel was built so that it is attached to a historic train depot. It was VERY pretty inside! We had a room with a view of downtown Pensacola and the bay. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We hung out for a little bit and then walked to Carrabba’s Italian Grill for dinner since it was right behind the hotel. We had a wonderful meal and a terrific waitress! (You don’t find many of those!) I had the Chicken Bryan. It was AMAZING!!! I highly recommend it if you ever choose to eat at this restaurant

We walked back to the hotel and took the shuttle bus to the downtown area of Pensacola. We realized that we “could” have walked to it. Oh well. 

Downtown Pensacola
Photo Credit: Gulfbreeze.com

The downtown area reminded us of New Orleans or Savannah. It was just a little smaller. There were LOTS of bars, restaurants and shops. We found “The World of Beer” place, (of course), and had a beer there. Then, we walked around and found another place called “Beef O’ Grady’s“. I liked that place! I think we just got a beer there, too. No food. 

We walked around a little more and then headed back to our hotel. I wish we had checked out more places, but we didn’t. It had been a long day and we were tired. 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

