Hypo or Hyper?? 

The past two days were fun, playing “Nana” and enjoying time with my sweet, Rosey. She is trying to walk now and kept us VERY busy!

Back to my reason to blog…


Journal Entry: Saturday – January 10, 2015

Well… I got my test results back from my doctor and I now know what may be causing all of my problems! — MY THYROID!! 

This was the beginning of aaaaallll the health problems that I have been having over the past two years.

I’m not sure if it’s “under active” or “overactive”. My levels are slightly high. I have more symptoms of an “under active” thyroid, but I do have symptoms for both. Soooo…. I have to go back in April to have my levels re-checked. (REALLY??? APRIL?? I have to wait THAT long??)

I “Googled” by HYPOthyroidism and HYPERthyroidism, just to have a better understanding of it all. 

For HYPOthyroidism… the symptoms that I am having are: 

  • Fatigue and sluggishness (tired a LOT)
  • Constipation
  • Pale, dry skin
  • A puffy face
  • Dry, brittle hair
  • Unexplained weight gain
  • Muscle aches and tenderness
  • Joint pain and stiffness
  • Muscle weakness
  • Excessive menstrual bleeding 
    • (I had this problem corrected by having a thermal ablasion and a DNC)
  • Depression
  • Memory lapses

For HYPERthyroidism… the symptoms that I am having are: 

  • A pounding heart
  • Trouble sleeping
  • Muscle weakness
  • Nervousness or irritability

I didn’t write this in my journal, but I remember thinking that I really wanted more answers regarding these issues with my thyroid. I was totally in the dark about it all and had NO CLUE what the thyroid even did!

I know that Wikipedia isn’t supposed to be the best source for information… but, personally… I like it. I refer to it a lot when I just want to know some general information. The thyroid controls a LOT in your body!! It’s very complex. It’s it’s not functioning right… then, YOU won’t be functioning right!

Here is a graphic that I found that  explains what all the thyroid controls in our bodies.

thyroid function
Photo credit here.
This REALLY explains a lot! I can actually list problems that I am having.. (or have had).. in EACH of these body parts! WOW!


POSHMARK plug 🙂 —- www.poshmark.com/closet/ashmirmom

Leave a Reply

