First Endocrinologist Appointment

Our weekend was good. We were camping with some long time friends. We have a wonderful State Park not far from where we live and it’s the perfect place to just get away for a weekend.

Friday, it was cold chilly and damp. It rained lightly on and off all day. Saturday, the weather was MUCH nicer! Sunny and warmer!

Even on the chilly, damp day… the woods were so beautiful!

IMG_9241

Anyway… back to that blog post that I tried to write before I left the other day. It won’t be exactly the same, but close enough!


 

Journal Entry: Thursday – January 22, 2015

I woke up this morning about 4:30 with my legs jerking! So, I’m sure I’ll be tired later. I am anxious to go to the doctor tomorrow about my thyroid.

Journal Entry: Friday – January 23, 2015

I worked this morning and “lightly” worked out. I felt like my heart was racing and I felt “flushed”. I stopped and took my blood pressure. It was WAY high again! Thankfully, I have my appointment with the endocrinologist today. I pray that he will give me some answers. Thankfully, Hubs is going with me. 

Journal Entry: Saturday – January 24, 2015

This is how my endocrinologist appointment went yesterday —

I REALLY liked the doctor. He was VERY thorough. They saw me almost immediately, which was great! I was taken back by a woman that had me get on that evil scale! Then, she took me to another room and asked me a whole LOT of questions about my health history and about my parents health history. She also took my blood pressure, and … again… it was EXTREMELY HIGH!! 147/101!!! SOOOOO Scary!! 

She then, took us into another room where we waited for the doctor. He came in and asked me even MORE questions. (Like I said… he was VERY thorough!) He felt of my neck and said that my thyroid felt slightly enlarged. He also talked to me about my diet, alcohol intake, and my sleep. He wants me to change all of that. He doesn’t feel like I’m getting enough sleep and I am not eating at the right time since I get up so early. That makes sense, of course. 

I go back next week to have blood work done and to have an ultrasound of my thyroid. Then, I go back on February 13th for my follow up appointment. 

He is checking my thyroid levels and my estrogen levels. He thinks that I may have HYPOTHYROIDISM and/or my estrogen is low. (This is what I wanted my regular doctor to check for in the first place and she said that it couldn’t be done!)

I can’t wait to get answers and start feeling better!! 

Leave a Reply

