Hormone Replacement Therapy Drugs… not a good thing.

I struggle with titles for my blog posts EVERY time I write! 

I have a migraine this morning, but I am going to push through and get a blog post written for you. I’ve been missing days lately because of the holiday weekend and Hubs has been home, not feeling well.

Another thing that has had me busy the past couple of days is my Poshmark store! I had quite a few sales over the weekend AND…. I had a friend give me some things to sell for her!! WAHOO!! I have been busy processing and getting her things listed. It is time-consuming, but fun and I LOVE IT! 🙂


Journal Entry: Tuesday – March 5, 2015

Well… I didn’t wake up with a headache, so that’s a good sign! (Got one today, tho!!) But, once again, I only slept for about 6 hours. (I did this for a while. Recently it was better and I was sleeping a little more. Now…. I’m back to only 5-6 hours again.) 

Yesterday, was a good day. I did have heart palpitations ALL DAY! I don’t feel them this morning, so that’s good. Although… I kinda’ wish they were there because I have that appointment with my endocrinologist today. 

My friend, Melissa, is going with me and I appreciate that. I am so nervous! I made a list of questions to ask and my current symptoms. I made a copy for the doctor, as well. 

My eating is OUT OF CONTROL!!! And… of course… I don’t want the “good-for-you” foods. I only want the JUNK FOOD! 


Journal Entry: Friday – March 6, 2015

I don’t know if I’ll have time to write about my whole day yesterday, or not. I may have to finish it later. 

My anxiety was OUT THE ROOF yesterday as I went to go pick up Melissa and head to my doctor’s appointment! It was pouring rain, too and I could feel my BP rising. Not good. When we got there, the nurse took my BP and it was 160/97!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I think KNOW it was my nerves. 

Next, we saw the doctor. He examined me and said that my thyroid was still slightly enlarged. Then, he looked at my blood work report and said that my thyroid levels were good, but my estrogen was low. He also said that he doesn’t think that I’m getting enough sleep (DUH!!) or eating enough food. (REALLY???) So, we talked about that. 

He put me on a sleep medication called… Ambien and a combined medication for my hormones … Progestin(A year later…. I learned that I should have NEVER taken this drug!) He also told me to take one of the medications for my Restless Legs in the morning instead of at night because it was for anxiety, not sleep. He said that my anxiety is why my BP is high. So, if I can get that under control, then it will help. He said that all of my other symptoms are caused by “Peri-menopause“. UGH! 

I DO still have the Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis, but it is an autoimmune disease that’s attacking my thyroid. Right now… my thyroid is “okay”. (At this point… I was still unclear about what an “autoimmune disease” was and also that Hashi’s is LIFELONG, not temporary.)

Melissa and  I left the doctor’s office and went to lunch downtown at a pizza place. After that, I took her back to her office and I went to see my mom. I told her about everything and I broke down in tears when I realized how many medications that I would be taking and that I had always told myself that I would NOT be like her and be totally UNHEALTHY! (I don’t think I said those exact words to my mom, but she knew that she didn’t take care of herself and because of that… she paid the consequences with her health. I look at myself now…. and …. here I am going down the same path. I’m such a failure. I seem to fail at everything I do.  — Sorry. It’s the depression talking.)

But… really… Menopause is a natural thing that women go through, and the Hashi’s is not because I’m “unhealthy”, so… I guess I can’t blame myself for all of this. THANK YOU, LORD! 

I went to the pharmacy to pick up my new meds and the hormone drug was $50.00!!!!  I could feel my anxiety rising again had to take a few deep breaths. Since it was a new drug for me, I had to talk to the pharmacist about the side effects. —- UGH!!! NOT GOOD!!!! When I got back out to my car, I broke down in tears… AGAIN! I dreaded telling Hubs. 

The tears came flooding back when I got home. I told hubs and he “tried” to be sweet. 

I wish I could stay home today. I don’t want to go to work. 

Leave a Reply

